Food for Thought

Keep Your Chakras in Balance With Food

By / Photography By & | January 15, 2015
Share to printerest Share to fb Share to twitter Share to mail Share to print
chakra centers

We have all heard about the benefits of “eating the rainbow.” Eating grains, fruits and vegetables of all colors promotes a healthy body and mind. These foods also nourish the spirit.

Chakras, or energy centers located throughout the body, are an integral part of the spirit. There are seven main chakras starting from the feet (Root Chakra) to the top of the head (Crown Chakra). Each chakra has a unique frequency and color vibration, reflecting a different shade of the rainbow. When you focus on balancing the colors of these spiritual energies, you can bring a sense of equilibrium to your mind, body and emotions.

You can balance these energy centers through the foods that you eat.

Here’s a brief summary of each chakra, its purpose and the role color plays in its function:


Root Chakra (RED for Stability and Self-Awareness)—Tomatoes, strawberries, raspberries, cherries, red apples, peppers, pomegranates and beets will help nourish the chakra that grounds us to Earth. This chakra gives us a sense of stability in the physical body. An imbalanced Root Chakra might result in constipation, Crohn’s disease, cold fingers and toes, frequent urination, hypertension, kidney stones and impotence.


Sacral Chakra (ORANGE for Creative and Sensual Energies)—Eat oranges, apricots, peaches, mangoes, carrots, squash, pumpkin and yams to boost your creative and sensual energies, awareness of your social surroundings and relationships with others. An imbalanced Sacral Chakra might result in menstrual issues, bladder infections, lower abdomen pain, testicular issues and irritable bowel syndrome.


Solar Plexus Chakra (YELLOW for Power)—Eating bananas, yellow peppers, eggs and pineapple increases the power center, an understanding of the self in the universe and all emotions. An imbalanced Solar Plexus Chakra might result in poor digestion, liver or kidney issues, weight problems, ulcers, diabetes and gallstones.


Heart Chakra (GREEN for Love)—Greens, broccoli, asparagus, green apples and kiwi will connect you to unconditional love and balance your whole being. The Heart Chakra unifies all of the chakras with openness and calmness. An imbalanced Heart Chakra might result in heart palpitations, chest pain, poor circulation and low or high blood pressure.


Throat Chakra (BLUE for Self-Expression and Communication)—Blueberries and blackberries will help support self-expression and the ability to communicate with others. An imbalanced Throat Chakra might result in thyroid issues, anorexia nervosa, asthma, hearing problems and sore throats.


Third-Eye Chakra (VIOLET for Intuition)—Eating eggplant, purple kale, grapes and plums will support your connection to a higher state of consciousness, imagination, intuition and spiritual self. An imbalanced Third-Eye Chakra might result in migraines, earaches, equilibrium dysfunction, deafness, blindness, sinus infections and visual defects.


Crown Chakra (WHITE for Wisdom and Spirit)—Mushrooms, garlic, ginger, onion, lychee and coconut help to balance the Crown Chakra, which connects you to the spirit and provides deep wisdom. An imbalanced Crown Chakra might result in muscular disease, exhaustion and sensitivity to light and sound.

Incorporating foods of all colors into your diet can support physical, mental and spiritual well-being. The next time you’re at the farmers market—or a salad bar—invite all shades of the rainbow onto your plate.

Let 2015 be the year to live colorfully.